Cornelia Parker + David Hammons + Cornelia Parker

"The art audience is the worst audience in the world. It's overly educated; it's conservative, it's out to criticize and not to understand, and it never has any fun. Why should I spend my time playing to that audience?" - David Hammons  "Once I started reinventing for myself what being an artist was – not going into a studio, but making things on my own terms in response to being out in the world – I started to really enjoy it... I realized that everything else for me was hell." - Cornelia Parker

“The art audience is the worst audience in the world. It’s overly educated; it’s conservative, it’s out to criticize and not to understand, and it never has any fun. Why should I spend my time playing to that audience?” – David Hammons
“Once I started reinventing for myself what being an artist was – not going into a studio, but making things on my own terms in response to being out in the world – I started to really enjoy it… I realized that everything else for me was hell.” – Cornelia Parker

About maratoday = Mara O'Day

artist educator
This entry was posted in Art + Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

